Concert for Prader-Willi Syndrome Association

20/11/2019 from 7:30 pm Concert Hall of Sts. Simon & Jude

Concert for Prader-Willi Syndrome Association


  • Henry Purcell Chacony in G minor
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Divertimento in B flat major
  • Johann Sebastian Bach Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E major
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Adagio and Fugue in C minor
  • Jules Massenet Meditation from Thaïs
  • Georg Friedrich Händel Concerto for Harp and Strings in B flat, Op. 4 No. 6
  • Edvard Hagerup Grieg Holberg Suite

  • Kateřina Englichová, harp
  • Leoš Čepický, violini, concertmaster

Kateřina Englichová

Kateřina Englichová, a graduate from Curtis Institute in Philadelphia and a winner of Pro Musicis International Award in New York. She has collaborated with many famous artists and ensembles such as Mstislav Rostropovič, Josef Suk, Pavel Šporcl, Ivan Ženatý, Vilém Veverka, Pražák Quartet, Wihan Quartet etc. For a number of years she played with the Philadelphia Orchestra and had the opportunity to collaborate with conductors such as sir Simon Rattle, Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Muti, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Michael Tilson-Thomas, Seiji Ozawa. She has appeared with the Philadelphia Orchestra, the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra, the Hongkong City Chamber Orchestra and the Budapest Symphony Orchestra. In 1998, she made her debut in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, New York. Other distinguished venues where she has played include the Beethoven Saal in Bonn, Théâtre de l’Athénée in Paris, Auditorio de Nacional de la Musica in Madrid and Chamber Music Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

Leoš Čepický

He graduated at the Conservatorium in Pardubice and at the Academy of Music Arts in Prague. He won many international competitions, e.g. in Zagreb (Croatia) and in Gorizia (Italy). He frequently gives solo recitals as well as concerts with orchestras, both in the Czech Republic and also abroad. To celebrate the 250th anniversary of J. S. Bach’s death in 2000 he performed a series of concerts of all Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for violin solo at the Smetana’s Festival in Litomyšl. In 2002 he made a Multisonic solo CD recording of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas. Since 2007 he works as a professor of violin at the Academy of Music Arts in Prague and in September 2010 he was appointed as a head of a string department of the Academy of Music in Prague. During his studies at AMU he became the first violinist of the Wihan Quartet and he still remains a member of this quartet. As a member of the Wihan Quartet he won the Prague Spring Award in 1988 and also the International Competition of the String Quartets in London in 1991. In 2008 – 2009 the Wihan Quartet performed all 16 Quartets of Ludwig van Beethoven. Leoš Čepický plays a violin from the workshop of violin master Jan B. Špidlen, copy of Guarneri del Gesù from 1741.